DIY · gardening

Drying Herbs and Flowers

I have always been one to lean toward homesteading. The process of growing everything I need to eat and for crafts is such a rewarding way to live, and I get that this is not for everyone. I would love to share that doing things like this is relatively easy and can be started on such a small scale and built upon. It is now February and it is a great time to start thinking about gardening. I have already started buying my seeds to get started. Some need to be started this month. Now it would be a good idea to build a drying box to dry your herbs and flowers. I like the idea of drying herbs by being outside in the heat. I have been researching all the different models that have been made trying to decide which one I like and which will work for my space. I have a very small yard.

As you can see you can make a drying rack out of almost anything and any price range. You can be as creative as you wish. I grow more herbs and flowers than vegetables because of the size of my yard and how much sun I have. In the meantime am focusing on herbs for cooking and for my medicinal cabinet.

I have an electric dehydrator but it cannot handle the volume of herbs I grow. I started with making herbal extracts for cooking and experimenting a bit with medicinal herbs. I hope to expand this year.

Here are more ideas for you for building a drying rack. Some of them are quite small and made with things you can find around your home.

I hope that you find one that you like and start drying herbs and flowers. I would love to see what you do and what you dry on the racks. I hope to experiment with several styles and find places in my tiny yard to do this. Another item is greenhouses. They come in all sizes and shapes. I like to make small ones with picture frames but here are some made from windows.

I am so excited to get started on my garden. I did manage to save some of my herbs in small pots in the house for this season. Good luck and have fun and hope to see your creations for the garden.

Tusen Tak

Roxanne

Leave a comment