Isolation

Day 2 of Isolation

Current events right now are keeping me on the edge of my seat. If I watched the news all day for updates, I would go into a great panic. The way that I look at this is I can control nothing, so I must focus on the things that I can control.

My mother lives near me, and I check up on her daily. We have cameras in her house so we can make sure she is ok. We have set my mother up on the computer so she can order her groceries from the grocery stores, and they are delivered. My brother and his wife had bought my mother a small puppy just before we got the “stay-at-home” order, and that turned out to be the best idea. We are trying to get her to understand and how to do a video chat. We are hoping she will not feel all alone during the isolation.


Today I spent the day collecting fabrics to sew into masks. I am using a pattern that I can sew on my embroidery machine. I showed my friends the finished face masks, and they all began to ask for one. I will make these until I run out of supplies. This mask is cute and quick to make.


In between making masks, I made several hand-sanitizers from scratch. It took me several trips to several stores to find the ingredients to make the hand-sanitizers. The aloe vera I bought is food grade and all it did was become solid in the alcohol. I ended up using an aloe vera for sunburns and it worked great.

I also bought a large number of vegetable seeds in the hopes that I can grow a decent size garden and then preserve them after harvesting them.


I have been going room to room and downsizing. I have been putting off downsizing my sewing studio due to the amount of time this is going to take. No time like the present, I am starting in small sections. My work table is so full of projects I want to get done. I hope I can get everything done during this isolation.

I hope that if you are also ordered in the “stay-at-home” isolation that you stay calm and plan and find things to do. I will try to continue to share with you and hopefully give you tons of ideas.

Roxanne

Leave a comment